It's been a while since we've seen another Grand Conductor!
Introducing Inquisitor Thexa!
Thexa will reveal your secrets!
As a reminder, a Conductor gets energy counters when it enters the scene, and it can use that energy on powerful skills!
Thexa is a Conductor 2, which means shi gets 2 energy counters, and can therefore use hir super-powerful skill twice. And what is that skill? Shi make a Furre lose all its skills... and then shi takes them for a turn!
If you recall, in previous articles, I kept mentioning things like, "If a Fellowship leader loses its Fellowship skill..." and "If X somehow gains skill Z..." Well, Thexa is the big reason for all of those. All of your opponent's carefully constructed plans can crumble at the will of Thexa. Shi can break up a Fellowship. Shi can make an Adventurer inept. Shi can make a Glutton forget that it has a belly.
Thexa is scary.
Thexa can do anything.
Thexa is a Grand Conductor.
Command your opponents with Grand Conductors -- Fortune at Vell's End preorders begin June 1st!
Sorry, comments are closed for this article.
|ezekiel_tyr on Jun 4th, 2014 @ 12:55 PM|
so that could be a problem if you have something with a very op ability
Seppel on May 31st, 2014 @ 05:34 PM
@Mage / Lafitte / Draj: You're all correct, but a small note -- Glutton is a passive skill that happens before triggers are even checked. Thexa can't stop either of them, but it's handy to know that you can't take out a Glutton before it gets any passive bonuses. :)
For example, Vitta's EtS skill distinctly triggers *after* the Gluttony is resolved.
Lafitte on May 31st, 2014 @ 11:47 AM
@Draj: Which makes it very convenient they already wear collars!
RainbowKitten on May 31st, 2014 @ 08:18 AM
Bwa ha ha! All the power consumption! Makes me want to build a "I screwed up your plans deck" :3
Draj on May 31st, 2014 @ 12:27 AM
Hmm... come to think of it, I think plenty of Conductor decks are going to want to put a leash on them...
Magetorment on May 30th, 2014 @ 11:36 PM
@Draj: Lafitte is correct, Thexa cannot stop Enters the Scene skills.
For a more detailed explanation: When a player plays a Glutton Furre it is an unresolved card, not technically a furre yet, meaning it can't be targeted by Thexa. Once it resolves the Glutton Enters the Scene. Before the Thexa player has a chance to respond the Glutton's EtS ability triggers. Even if Thexa reacts to this trigger by stealing the skill the trigger is still there.
As a key reminder: Furres do not need Glutton to keep other furres in their belly, nor do they need the skill when a Glutton Trigger resolves for them to eat the selected furres.
Lafitte on May 30th, 2014 @ 10:43 PM
@Draj: In a previous comment Seppel had said the glutton ability couldn't be targeted and stopped while a glutton entered the scene, you had to deny the glutton or let it enter normally. I assume this falls under the same heading.
Draj on May 30th, 2014 @ 10:35 PM
She doesnt exactly hve a very good chassis, though.
Hmm... Can you use her ability "in responce" to coming into play, to steal "enter the scene" abilities, or are those safe?
Magetorment on May 30th, 2014 @ 10:13 PM
@Polka: That is all correct. Thexa can steal other Conductors skills and use their abilities in the same turn (provided you can pay for the costs and shi still has energy counters on hir). Additionally shi can break up Fellowships by taking the ability from the leader. Shi can also keep Adventurers from gaining EXP counters, though shi doesn't change their stats, nor does shi gain stats if shi gets EXP counters on hirself. Shi has little effect on Gluttons though, since that is an enters the scene skill.
I'll let everyone else trawl through the older cards to see what wonders Thexa can do against other decks. :3
Nezumi12 on May 30th, 2014 @ 08:58 PM
Shi takes the skills, but not the counters.
Kiss your butt good-bye, masochists: Thexa feels your pain. And it feels like... victory.
polkakitty on May 30th, 2014 @ 08:27 PM
Wait, I assume that if you use Thexa's skill on another Conductor, shi ends up with one energy counter and two skills with "Thexa conducts" as an additional cost (hir normal one and the one stolen from the other Furre,) and you can spend the second energy counter towards using either of them but not both?
Also, if you use Thexa's skill on a Furre that has Fellowship and, say, 3 other Furres in its Fellowship, I assume that when the Fellowship skill comes back, it doesn't remember which Furres were in the Fellowship before, and they just have to be readded one at a time?
I love this card. Shi's pretty much got a way to ruin everyone's day, regardless of what kind of deck they're playing.
Magetorment on May 30th, 2014 @ 07:06 PM
I still think Thexa has one of the nicest arts in the set. Just saying.
Taz on May 30th, 2014 @ 06:23 PM
@Lafitte: Fellowships are *really really really* not going to like Conductor decks. Just fair warning.
Zinna has a good reason to be a bit paranoid about them.
Lafitte on May 30th, 2014 @ 05:52 PM
I realized that, outside of game terms, she has the power to make people fall out of love and I kind of got sad for a minute....
Zeneth_Starr on May 30th, 2014 @ 05:19 PM
We all knew The a was going to be scarey. Here's the proof. With the ability to do ANYTHING.
And her artwork is sexy.
BlueJay on May 30th, 2014 @ 05:12 PM
She's like a magical Judge Dredd. Everybody, shudder in fear!